10 Best Motivational Books Like The Alchemist That Are Life-Changing

Did you ever have a desire to enjoy the process of self-discovery and want to attain growth by refining your best selves? No matter where you truly stand in the process of your journey, this classic and unique novel, The Alchemist by the author Paulo Coelho’s in 1998 can always make you believe in yourself. It teaches you about fulfilling your passion while staying conscious about the universe’s gentle symbols.

The novel has enlightened many readers throughout the world with a tale of perseverance and kindness. It has showcased a powerful message of self-care and honesty which can make a positive impact on everybody’s life.

Do you wish to learn through other’s mistakes and take up the right path of self improvement? For each one of us who has been battling with different emotions and circumstances in life, these books like the Alchemist are of great value. 

What are the best books like The Alchemist?

Are you in search of more inspirational books that have made a significant impact on readers’ lives? There are several books like entailing various exploration, mystery, and treasure hunting stories. Here are ten recommendations of motivational books that will inspire you to be ambitious and achieve goals in your life with little determination and self-reliance. 

All these books like the Alchemist will provoke your inner travel bug while flipping through its pages. These fictional tales make you feel more relaxed and will turn into an unforgettable read for a lifetime.Hope these inspiring books motivate you to achieve your visions and live a more peaceful and meaningful life.

  1. Siddhartha 
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

This one is a tale of a wealthy and privileged class boy named Siddhartha who abruptly decides to give up on his luxurious life and starts a journey of finding moral and ethical prosperity. While exploring, Siddhartha encounters many people starting from ordinary sailors to the highest Buddhist monks. However, these people bid meaningful lessons and teach him fundamental aspects of Human existence. 

As a reader, you would love to see how Siddhartha beautifully represents different ideologies and inspires a lot many people. Also, it would motivate you to glance into your own life and find out the true purpose of living. This story of Siddhartha will surely connect you spiritually to your inner self and give you the taste of true essence of peace. 

Fun Fact- The book author won the Nobel prize in literature. In 1972, a film version of the book Siddhartha was released directed by Conrad Rooks casting Shashi Kapoor. In 1971, a surreal change as musical western was titled, Zachariah.

  1. Life of Pi 
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

Do you love adventurous stuff and have a keen interest in life-altering stories? The book Life of pi, gives you an extraordinary story of a sixteen-year-old Pi, how he survives on a boat in the Pacific Ocean for 227 days along with a Bengal Tiger Richard Parker. 

This book will give you a glimpse into the different survival strategies in a difficult situation. It’s a complete package of fantasy, adventure, and inspiration. You will be amazed by the courage of a small boy landing at the middle of the ocean with a tiger left with no other option left other than being fearless and co-existing with him on the same boat, metaphorically “life”. 

Fun facts- In 2012, the book was produced into a movie with the same title. The film was the opening film of the 50th New York film festival. Furthermore, it received the Golden Globe Awards for Best Original Score. Also, it got nominated for Best Picture – Drama and Best Adapted screenplay.

  1. Tuesdays with Morrie 
Tuesdays with Morrie
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

If you’re strongly willing to make your life more impactful on other’s lives, this book is surely going to make you curious about your own life. It will allow you to understand the beauty of life in small little things that we come across every day but usually overlook them and don’t value them enough.

The book Tuesday with Morrie is going to help you in the process of self-analysis. The storyline of the book mainly focuses on the topic about how a person’s perspective completely changes after getting so close to “Death”. Somehow it will hit your soul after the big realisation that we simply exist but not fully live. 

Fun fact- In 2000, The book was ranked as a bestseller in the New York Times Nonfiction. A complete audiobook was published. In 2007, in the memory of the book’s tenth anniversary, a new edition with an Afterword by the same author was published. 

  1. The Prophet 
The Prophet
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

This is one of those books like the alchemist that essentially consists of 26 chapters varying on different issues like love, offspring, relationship, job, happiness and sorrow, freedom, passion, religion, and much more. It gives you mixed feelings showcasing the different emotions of human life. 

However, as a reader, it will stand up to your expectations. Gibram’s poems will give you an aroma of different feelings and rollercoaster of emotions that we usually go through in our daily lives. The ultimate message in the book is something that you have been surrounded by every single day but never paid enough attention to. Our mixed emotions that we know is a crucial part of our very existence but we never really acknowledge it and neither accept it. In the end, you will be enlightened with the different stories that the author portrays.

Fun Fact-The book got translated into more than 100 different languages creating a record of most translated books ever. In 1974, a musical translation was made casting Richard Harris. In 2014, it was confirmed to create an animated feature film based on the book.

  1. The Unbearable Lightness of Being
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

This is a tale of the lives of two perfectly married couples in the late 1960s. You will be stunned to see how the newly married woman insanely falls in love with the man she gets married to and he gets baffled between his love and his wicked nature of women chasing.

This book radially showcases the most contrary feeling of human intellect. Whether to choose the love of your life to whom you are committed or to give in to the desire and feelings of lust. The book will totally give you new ideologies and will change your perspective towards life. However, it truly shows the dilemma that everybody goes through between the desire of love and liberty and it ultimately leads to realizing the beauty of life.

Fun fact- In 1988, the novel was created into an American-based movie casting Daniel Day-Lewis, Lena Olin, and Juliette Binoche.

  1. The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari
The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

If you already feel like you hate your life and are about to give up, the monk who sold his Ferrari is a must-read. This book is for anyone who is not feeling right about his or her life and thinks that happiness is only a far-fetched dream. The novel Protagonist Julian used to live a luxurious life and was a high- profile lawyer. 

However, he suddenly decides to leave his career and live a peaceful life and find the actual meaning of life. The book will encourage you to accomplish your objectives in your life and will make you learn how step by step you can discover a better way of living. The books have completely showcased time-travel with the philosophical teaching of great courage and perseverance.

Fun Fact-In 2013, The book has sold out more than three million copies. Also, the translation of the book was done into a Dogri language by Champa Sharma.

  1. Jonathan Livingston Seagull 
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

The unique plot and theme makes it one of the best books like the alchemist among all classic novels. It has motivated many people across the world to seek through challenges and conquer them beautifully. The story depicts a Seagull who always wanted to live more than what an ordinary being lives. Thus, he always dragged himself into new challenges and bravely and faced them to pursue real inner peace and happiness.

Do you ever think of doing something remarkable rather than doing ordinary stuff that a normal person usually does?This book will surely motivate you to be a unique person. Somehow it will convince you that it is completely fine to be extraordinary in between all the ordinary people.

Fun fact -After the publication of the book in a condensed version it ranked in the New York Times bestseller list for almost 37 weeks. In 1972, it was also categorized in publishers Weekly list of bestselling novels in the US. The book inspired a lot of readers and was made into a film with the same title by Hall Bartlett. The soundtrack album in the film got the Grammy Award in 1974 for the best original score written.

  1. The Kite Runner 
The Kite Runner
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

Do you believe that friendship doesn’t see any class? The Kite Runner displays the friendship between a wealthy boy and a son of his father’s servant. These boys were his best friends since childhood. However, things turned out to be different when a traumatic event gradually alters their life and makes them fall apart.

 A story of a dark secret from the past of unforgotten betrayal leads the friendship of two inseparable boys into two completely different life paths. These books will surely make you look inwards at strengths and weaknesses and help you analyze them.

Fun Fact-The book was translated into 42 languages in more than 38 countries. It was one of the New York Times bestselling books. The book was recognized by the readers and made into a film. The movie received enormous awards and was nominated for the BAFTA film Award, Academy Award, Critics Choice Award in 2008.

  1. All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown 
All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

This book marvelously represents 45 memorable stories of several people going through various challenges and gracefully encountering every tough situation with all their courage.

All the beautiful stories broadcasted in a radio show was decided to be penned down by creative minds at The Moth and finally was formulated into a book. It will help you elucidate and feel motivated about life and it’s mysteries after you read about each of the inspiring stories.

The thought-provoking stories correlate with the philosophies of life. All these people’s incredible life-risking challenges and journeys and stories of them succeeding at it is bewildering. It will soothe your soul and make you learn the importance of consistency and perseverance in life. 

Fun fact-The stories were collected from a radio program, The Moth in 2017. On the 20th anniversary of the show, It was further edited by the show’s artistic director Catherine Burns and made into a book consisting of 45 unique inspiring stories.

  1. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Click on the cover for reader reviews.

If your a hardcore fan of inspiration story this book is the one you looking for. The story of Cheryl Strayed beautifully depicts how to overcome mental and physical challenges. When her mother died she was completely devastated and struggled to tolerate the pain alone. However, she was in the worst phase of her life battling through drug abuse.

After going through a tough situation, she decides to walk alone on a journey of the Pacific Crest Trail. You will feel psychologically boosted up after seeing the courage of a young girl and her experience on the trail. This book gives all of us a very important lesson that physical and mental challenges can be overcome only if you can withstand the tough situation. 

Fun Fact-The book was appreciated by many readers and it reached No.1 New York Times Best Seller List. The book made an entry in Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 as the first selection. In 2012, the book was nominated for Goodreads Choice Awards. Also, it was designated as Book of the week on BBC Radio 4. In 2015; it was translated into 30 languages reaching out to as many readers worldwide. 

Final Verdict:

Are you in search of the real meaning of life and need to get some inspiration to take up the right life decisions? Above-mentioned books like the alchemist are honestly the ones that will give you the true essence of motivation. 

Reading each of these stories will make you tap into your innate human desires and make you fall in love with each of the characters. The diverse personality of each person makes them look different from the others. Each and every character in these books carries a beautiful desire of craving his own personality and finding out what actual quality he has in himself and the stories will push you to do the same. 

Leave a Comment